Moving to New Zealand

I wrapped up my internship with the Detroit Free Press in late October and am now moving to New Zealand. My time at the Free Press taught me a lot and I wrote nearly 300 articles, including two of the newspaper’s top ten most-viewed stories of 2018. I was lucky enough to have my work featured on the front page of the newspaper and in the pages of partner publications, including USA Today. I covered breaking news and also wrote enterprise pieces on a range of subjects, from DNA heritage tests to major health scares.

In New Zealand, I hope to continue my freelance journalism and will also be working as a research assistant for a professor from my alma mater, searching for documents related to New Zealand’s 1990s-era education reforms in Archives New Zealand and the National Library.

Leave a comment